



aam vorentoe · masiye phambili · forward together

## Seminar

## Maritime cyber security: preparing for rough seas ahead

Date: 16 September 2021 Time: 13:30 to 16:00 (GMT+2) Venue: Online via Zoom, <u>registration</u> required

Enquiries: Denys Reva, dreva@issafrica.org or Noëlle van der Waag-Cowling, noelle@sun.ac.za

Digital advances in the maritime sector can increase efficiency, but as the July Transnet cyber attack showed, they also expose the industry to new threats. To benefit from the African Continental Free Trade Area (AfCFTA), the safety of sea routes, ports and vessels should be a priority for African states. This includes protection against cyber attacks.

Cyber security and the AfCFTA are flagship projects of the African Union's Agenda 2063 and ensuring maritime cyber security is vital for the continent's development and prosperity. This seminar will discuss the links between maritime and cyber security, and the roles of the private and public sector actors responsible for reducing the risks.

This seminar is co-hosted by the Institute for Security Studies (ISS) and the Security Institute for Governance and Leadership in Africa (SIGLA) at Stellenbosch University. SIGLA will publish a special co-edited issue of Scientia Militaria: South African Journal of Military Studies on maritime cyber security based on the seminar proceedings.

**Chair:** Professor Francois Vrey, Research Coordinator, SIGLA

Keynote address: Abdul Hakeem Ajijola, Chairman, AU Cyber Expert Group

**Panel 1**: Maritime cyber security and governance in Africa – challenges and solutions (speakers' details to follow)

**Panel 2**: Emerging threats and the African maritime cyber landscape (speakers' details to follow)

## Register to attend

This seminar is funded by the government of Norway and the Security Institute for Governance and Leadership in Africa, Stellenbosch University. The ISS is also grateful for support from the members of the ISS Partnership Forum: the Hanns Seidel Foundation, the European Union, the Open Society Foundations and the governments of Canada, Denmark, Norway, Ireland, the Netherlands, Sweden and the USA.